Emily Turnbull and Grant Dowler Awarded for Outstanding Service at LTU Blues Awards

Emily Turnbull and Grant Dowler Awarded for Outstanding Service at LTU Blues Awards

Enormous congratulations to Grant Dowler and Emily Turnbull on both receiving an Outstanding Service to Sport Award last night at the La Trobe University Blues Awards.

Grant was recognised for his nine years of contribution to the La Trobe University Football Club, where he has continuously brought his enthusiasm to the club in all aspects as a player, Senior Captain, Social Coordinator, Club Secretary and Volunteer Coordinator. Grant was also honoured with Life Membership earlier in the season for the La Trobe University Football Club.

Emily was recognised for her five years of contribution to Women’s Football at the La Trobe University Football Club, where she has doubled female participation at the club as the Female Vice President. 

Published by Josh Rogerson 26.10.2018

Successful Season for the Trober Girls Following NFNL Awards Night

Trober Girls clean up at NFL Awards

A big well done to our Senior Women’s Coach Jaryd Coghill who was nominated for Coach of the year. Jaryd led our girls to the finals this season after they finished last on the ladder in 2017. His leadership, positiveness and will to help development our footballers saw a number of our girls being highly recognised for their successful seasons. 

At last night’s Northern Football Netball League Presentation Night our girls received eight awards in total. Our senior captain Kate Bond won the Coaches MVP Award on 69 votes, while spearhead Samantha Greene won the League Leading Goal Kicker with 39 goals for the season. Kate Bond also finished runner up in the League Best and Fariest, finishing two votes shy of the winner, Teresa D’Angelo placed third in the same count. 

Six of our girls were honoured with making Team of the Year: Emily Turnbull, Half Back Flank; Teresa D’Angelo, Half Forward Flank; Samantha Greene, Centre Half Forward; Kate Bond, Ruck Rover and Steph Castagnini, Interchange for the Division 2 team, along with Claire Henderson making the Division 3 team on the interchange.

Congratulations to all our girls on a great season and those that won awards.

Published by Josh Rogerson 20.09.2018